The Australian Water Awards

Proudly sponsored by:
ANZ logo

2021 National Award Finalists 

The Australian Water Awards are a way of recognising the Australian Water Association’s members for their contribution to the water sector and the communities in which they serve. The State and Territory award winners will compete in the national awards.

Congratulations to all the winners who were announced at Ozwater’21 Gala Dinner, Tuesday 4 May 2021 in Adelaide. See more details below. 

WINNER: Northern Australia Water Resource Assessment – CSIRO and collaborators, supported by the Australian Government through the National Water Grid Authority


  • Development of Wastewater Epidemiology for NSW. Collaboration on SARS-CoV-2 Monitoring in Wastewater Sydney Water, WaterRA & Water Unit – NSW Health (NSW) 
  • Naegleria Fowleri in Drinking Water Distribution Systems – CSIRO & Water Corporation (WA) 
  • Northern Australia Water Resource Assessment CSIRO and collaborators (ACT) 
  • Rapid Development and Implementation of a Wastewater Surveillance Tool for the Detection of SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19) – SA Water & WaterRA (SA) 
  • Victorian Collaboration on Sewage Surveillance for SARS-CoV-2 (ColoSSoS VIC Node)WaterRA and ColoSSoS Project Partners (VIC) 
  • Zero-Energy Sewage Treatment: Harnessing the Power of BiogasThe University of Queensland, Urban Utilities, City of Gold Coast, SA Water, Water Corporation and University of Technology Sydney (QLD) 
WINNER: Wara Paring Indigenous Civil Construction Project – Aqua Metro Services and Melbourne Water


  • Enhancing Resource Recovery Icon Water (ACT) 
  • Fulton Hogan Utilities’ Problem Based Learning STEM Program for Primary Schools – Fulton Hogan Utilities (SA) 
  • Global Challenge – Partnering to Invest, Influence and Tangibly Impact Sustainable Development Goal 6 (Clean Water and Sanitation)  Arup (NSW) 
  • Regional Water Industry Worker Pilot Program Mackay Regional Council, Whitsunday Regional Council, Townsville City Council, Cairns Regional Council and Burdekin Shire Council (QLD) 
  • Wara Paring Indigenous Civil Construction ProjectAqua Metro Services and Melbourne Water (VIC) 
WINNER: Port Stewart Water Supply – Arup and Centre for Appropriate Technology


  • A Water Quality Digital Revolution Partnership for Bathurst D2K Information & Bathurst Regional Council (NSW) 
  • Busselton Water Filtration Plant No. 1– Busselton Water & GHD (WA) 
  • New Wastewater Treatment Plant for Murray Bridge (Brinkley) – SA Water, John Holland & KBR (SA) 
  • Ngukurr Leak Reduction Project– Power and Water Corporation (NT) 
  • Port Stewart Water Supply– Arup and Centre for Appropriate Technology (QLD) 
  • Torres Strait Islands Sustainable Water and Wastewater Management Plan– Arup, Griffith University and Ganden Engineers & Project Managers (VIC) 
  • Trevallyn Downstream Bypass – Hydro Tasmania (TAS) 
WINNER: Deriving Value Through Remote Access to Asset Information – CH2M Beca and Western Water


  • Beenyup Advanced Water Recycling Plant Stage 2– SUEZ & Water Corporation (WA) 
  • Bolivar Wastewater Treatment Plant Clarifier Upgrade Project – SA Water & Aurecon (SA) 
  • Cedar Grove Environmental Centre Logan City Council, Downer, WSP and Cardno (QLD) 
  • Deriving Value Through Remote Access to Asset Information– CH2M Beca and Western Water (VIC) 
  • Geospatial Planning Tool – Sydney Water, Arup, Aurecon & GHD (NSW) 
WINNER: An Innovative Way of Treating Wastewater and Sludge Employing a Novel Ammonia-Oxidizing Bacteria Genus Candidatus NitrosoglobusZhiyao Wang, The University of Queensland (QLD) 


  • An Innovative Way of Treating Wastewater and Sludge Employing a Novel Ammonia-Oxidizing Bacteria Genus Candidatus NitrosoglobusZhiyao Wang, The University of Queensland (QLD) 
  • An Investigation into the Optimisation and Evaluation of Smart Ponds for Sludge ManagementRaveena Raju, The University of Western Australia (WA) 
  • Controlling Hydrogen Sulphide and Siloxanes in Biogas for Enhanced Cogeneration Efficiency Chris Skellern, The University of Sydney (NSW) 
  • Non-Revenue Water: The Effect of Pressure Reducing Valve Settings on a Reticulated Water Supply System– Andrea Georgiou, Charles Darwin University (NT) 
  • Storm Water Channels in a Water Sensitive World Kate Harriden, Australian National University (ACT) 
  • The Development of Novel Nanofunctional Wastewater Remediation Strategies: Creating Clean Water for the Many, Not the FewPiumie Rajapaksha, RMIT University (VIC) 
  • Use of Artificial Neural Networks and Fluid Transient Waves for Active and Passive Inspection of Water Pipelines – Jessica Maria Bohorquez Arevalo, The University of Adelaide (SA) 
WINNER: Simon Roberts


  • Shannon Davies, Environmental Engineer, AECOM (NSW) 
  • Dr Joel Edwards, Sustainability and Resource Recovery Coordinator, Icon Water (ACT) 
  • Andrea Georgiou, Water Services Engineering Graduate, Power and Water Corporation (NT) 
  • Dr Lachlan Guthrie, Research Fellow, International WaterCentre (QLD) 
  • Kevin Massez, Project Manager, Water Corporation (WA) 
  • Adela Parnell, Asset Management Systems Lead, TasWater (TAS) 
  • Simon Roberts, Senior Integrated Water Management Planner, City West Water (VIC) 
  • Meena Yadav, Site Engineer, Allwater (SA) 
WINNER: Dr Annette Davison


  • Deb Brown, Director, Resilient Cities and Towns, Department of Environment Land Water and Planning (VIC) 
  • Dr Annette Davison, Principal and Director, Risk Edge (NSW) 
  • Chris Elliott, Managing Director, Busselton Water (WA) 
  • Professor Jennifer McKay, Professor of Business Law, University of South Australia (SA) 
  • Stephen Westgate, Senior Water Quality Scientist, TasWater (TAS) 
  • Professor Zhiguo Yuan AM, Director, Advanced Water Management Centre, The University of Queensland (QLD) 
WINNER: Confined Space Entry Simulator – Melbourne Water


  • Confined Space Entry Simulator – Melbourne Water (VIC)
  • The Claw: Eliminating the Need for Confined Space Entry – Mackay Regional Council (QLD)
  • Mental Health & Wellbeing Strategy – Barwon Water (VIC)
  • Our Performance Evolution – Utilita (a JV between Downer Utilities and Ventia) and Urban Utilities (QLD)
  • Water Meter Electrical Safety Simulation – Water Corporation (WA)
WINNER: Customer Experience Program – Barwon Water


  • Becoming Visible: Re-Establishing Our Connection Between Our People and Our Community – Icon Water (ACT)
  • Customer Experience Program – Barwon Water (VIC)
  • Customer Journey Mapping Program – Yarra Valley Water (VIC)
  • MID2030 Modernisation Program – Southern Rural Water (VIC)
  • Water Wizards – Sydney Water (NSW)
  • Website and My Account – Water Corporation (WA)
WINNER: Bioflocculation – Annabelle Strachan, Meriden School


  • Bioflocculation – Annabelle Strachan, Meriden School
  • Filtration using Casuarina Xylem: The Potential of Using Casuarina Species to Filter E.
    Coli from Water –
    Laura Redman, Barker College
  • The Effect of Ash on Brine Shrimp – Deanne Kalis, Presbyterian Ladies College Sydney
  • Water, can the sun solve our shortages? – Tim Barth & Devon O’Connell, Danthonia Hig
Contaminants of Emerging Concern
By Laura Kuskopf, Dr Madoc Sheehan & Anna Whelan

Thank you to our Category Sponsors

WaterRA logo
Stantec logo

R&D Excellence Award

Organisational Excellence Award

Water Industry Safety Excellence Award &
Customer Experience Award

Smec logo

Infrastructure Project
Innovation Awards

Student Water Prize

Young Water Professional of the Year Award & Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize